Picture 85

My first attempts at this pattern and I didn’t use a hook small enough – I wasn’t comfortable with an aluminum hook so bendable, and I thought it would be okay to get away with using a hook one size bigger. I counted the rows and made it exactly identical – but who was I kidding? It was too big for me. I splurged on some yarn & ribbon:

Picture 83

I set to work on a bralette made in indigo acrylic yarn. There are vintage buttons on the back that can fit in 2 button holes. The strap also adjusts with a button. Fatima’s pattern is genius. I couldn’t help but use what I had left of this metallic black cotton yarn, to outline this navy color. I kept thinking about embroidering sunflowers onto this, but that’s beyond my skill level. (I did look into sashiko stitching, which means “little stabbing” in Japanese.)

Picture 126

 

It’s a bralette, which reveals much more than a crop top. I will be adding more though, underneath. What do you think? I’m eager to make a second. I’m very optimistic about what it will look like on other women. I have virtual friends that I’m sending gifts for in honor of their trades.

Picture 87

Here I am working on my second bralette in the sacred sage color, what I have left of the color. Its a gift for all the lovely wire wrapped pendants I got from Jill. Here is a picture she sent me wearing a crop top I made. (I was so afraid that it wouldn’t fit snug.) I am so impressed by this young lady, she definitely has a radiant spirit and has taught me to see what I am capable of. There’s something so empowering collaborating with other creatives. It increased my productivity, but it also taught me it was okay to feel vulnerable. It’s proven to be very effective in unique designs and to put your fears of failure aside.

 

 

Many times I think how often I come undone when I start all over on a project. I realize how badly I want something to be seen, and I have this distinct fear of having no idea what I’m doing, or if I’m making art or staying busy. (It’s probably both.) But I also knew I had to make things. I’ve always been a maker. I’ve always admired other makers. And I put a lot of myself into these pieces, and what if they are not lovable? I had to remind myself that even though I put everything into my work, my work was not me. My passion drives me to educate myself to allow me to make more. I’d make things up with the knowledge I had in my head.

I wanted to focus on the positive energy emitting from the sincere reviews and the other creatives encouraging my work.  I stumbled across a 3 year old post in my old happiness blog, where I found a proven formula I had forgotten: increased productivity equals increased happiness.  But you have to put the energy into the right place. Into something fulfilling. But I am not my work.

