Tags

, , , , , , , ,

With the cold and grey and rainy weather comes the promise of cozying up to catch up on some of my favorite blogs here. I saw this challenge and wanted to participate! I’m a little hesitant though because this has mostly been all about my crochet, but my crochet is inspired by what i love!

  1. Who Is Your Favorite Male Anime Character?

    This was really hard for me! The first character that came to mind was Spike from Cowboy Bebop and then my second thought was Vegeta from Dragon Ball. I am obsessed with Vegeta and he belongs in his own category so I’m going to say Spike.

cowboy

cowboy-fight

2.Who is Your Favorite Female Character?

Major Motoko Kusanagi is my role model. They don’t come any more bad ass than her.

ghost

motoko

3. What is Your Favorite Anime Soundtrack?

I love to dance, and Inner Universe from Stand Alone Complex is one of my favorites to lose myself in. I’m not sure if this counts as a soundtrack, and I know there’s a few others I love but I can’t think of them spur of the moment. I just know it when I hear it.

4. What is Your Favorite anime opening + animation?

I am still impressed by the seamless use of CGI in Knights of Sedonia and the trailer is so catchy. It sounds like an anthem to the most epic space battle. The other one that comes to mind is the Death Note opening for season 2. I think I’ll choose the later, because Death Note is an older love of mine. Metal and anime just belong together.

5. What Is Your Favorite anime closing + animation?

I don’t know!!

6. What Is Your Favorite anime scene?

I’m going with one of Vegeta’s best moments, against my favorite bad guy, Cell. I love love love Vegeta.

7. If you could meet any anime character, who would you meet?

It took me a while to think of this, but then it stuck me. Of course! Ash and Pickachu come in a bundle, right? I would love to meet Pickachu or be able to train my own pokemon!

pokemon

8. What anime character is most similar to you in terms of personality?

Long and hard, my personality is timid at first, but I am anayltical, fiery, and we share similair tastes in clothes. (I have a denim cropped jacket like that! lol) I asked my boyfriend for some insight and he said if he could choose a League of Legends character for me, it would be Jynx. (Master Ye reflects my boyfriend.)

appleseed

9. What is your favorite thing about anime?

The plots. The story lines. I also love the art work, I think it’s so beautiful and any one who can draw like that amazes me. When I was in highschool, I got made fun of when I admitted I played Yu-gi-oh and I hid that part away. I realized much later that you should let the animal inside you love what it loves, and even if the world thinks I’m dorky, anime is a place where I’m accepted.

10. What is your least favorite thing about anime?

The only thing wrong with it is the sexualization of women, i mean it’s really obvious. Sometimes I have to stop watching it myself because I get so self conscious about my chest size. (But always remind myself later that our bodies change, and it’s not fair to yourself to compare apples to oranges. I could go on.) For example, in Knights of Sedonia, Izana Shinatose – a special transgender hybrid – falls in love later with Nagate, and she compares her flat chest to other girls. (But later it works out for her, her feelings . lol.)

11. Who are your favorite anime couple?

Asuna and Kirito. They remind me of me and my boyfriend. We protect each other.

12. Who is your favorite anime animal?

After a long thought (and really wanting to say Vulpix) I knew it was Dr. Brief’s cat. Dr. Brief is founder of Capsule Corporations, Bulma’s dad is a brilliant scientist. Every time I see this cat on screen I am deliriously happy. He is this super adorable black kitty with large eyes that usually sits perched on the doctors shoulder. I don’t think he ever says anything. lol

scratch-2

scratch

13. What anime would make a good game?

That’s hard because a lot of my favorite animes have games. I think Vampire Hunter D would make a cool game. I’d play that.

14. What game would make a good anime?

The Legend of Zelda! I actually didnt get to play the full collection, Link is a powerful character, and then there was Lady Palutena in Super Smash Brawl. I played her and was so good at that character! Her and Pickachu are my go-tos. I’m unstoppable.

15. What was the first anime you ever watched?

Pokemon aired in 1998, so whatever else was on television I absorbed. Yu-gi-oh and there’s this other card related anime, similair to Sailor Moon as I think it’s some magical school girl that unlocks cards. It’s called Card Captor, I remember having all their toys and this Bondai collection of the Clow book which contains the spell cards.

16. Do you think you’ll ever stop watching anime?

I feel like my old self, creative, inspired when I watch anime. If I knew more anime and had access to book stores, I’d definately try to read manga more. I only watch anime though if i think I’ll really like it.

17. What is your favorite genre of anime?

Anything science fiction – i love how anime can really take science fiction to a new platform. The japanese are masterful storytellers. I love mecha manga as of just recently, or anything futuristic or fantasy.

18. What is your least favorite anime?

I’m not going to say for sure, I guess it depends on the maturity of the anime. For example, I couldn’t watch something that’s geared toward an audience for 12 years with a setting about school crushes. I wouldn’t want to watch something like that, it might not capture my interest. It depends on if I care about the characters.

19. Are you open about watching anime with people you know?

I could say a lot here. In elementary school I was made fun of and when I went to highschool, I was scared about what other girls think. People made fun of the kids with Naruto headbands, rumors spread about the girl who wore Elf ears, and one day someone made fun of me for having yu-gi-oh cards. I hid that part away and I regret it because you don’t flourish that way. It was actually when I became president of the Literacy Circle (a group to making a school zine and a reading club.) that I met friends that enjoyed that side of me. We increased the number of manga books in the library. I painted a poem on the wall in the library next to an anime girl looking at books. Now, I am open, but that doesn’t mean people like me more or less. I find people who have the same interests and can show me more about what I love.

20. Have you ever been to Japan?

No.

I’ve watched all of Zatoichi though so I feel like I’ve traveled every where. Zatoichi is about blind swordsman.

21. What was the biggest anime letdown for you?

I think the Sword Art. I loved it all, binged watched it religiously until they became fairies? I didn’t like that direction. A lot of my friends tell me to rewatch it and just go with it, it’s worth it.

22. What anime was better than expected?

This new one impressed me! It’s really short and it’s called Genesis Bahumet

23. What is the best anime fight scene?

Definately when Gohan defeated Cell.

cell-destroyed

24. Who is your anime waifu/husbando?

Eren

eren

25. What was your favorite video game as a child?

I loved playing Spyro Enter the Dragonfly and Super Smash Brothers Melee.

 

 

I hope you guys enjoyed and I’d love to see your own if you do the challenge too.

If you know of any anime you think Id like, definitely leave a comment.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

